Ballybricken Bohermore GAA Banner image
Home About Us Downloads Fixtures & Results Photo Gallery News & Lotto Interactive History
Latest News
Club Lotto

Latest Ballybricken-Bohermore GAA News

Club News week commencing Sept 17th 2018


Kilpeacon a combination of Ballybricken/Bohermore, Fedamore and Crecora won the minor East A football final beating Oola 1-7 to 0-9. In an evenly contested game we started with two early scores from Daniel Owens and Donnacha Connnolly, we failed to build on this and were unlucky to hit the crossbar twice in quick succession during this period . Kilpeacon kicked over one further point to leave the sides level 0-3 apiece at half-time, the match was firmly in the balance but our opponents started the second half well and after exchanging scores Oola led by two points going in to the last 10 minutes. The players never panicked and got what proved to be an all decisive score with an excellent team move finished to the net expertly by Shane O Connor in the closing minutes we exchanged frees and held out for a fine win by the minimum one point. In an excellent team performance special mention to Niall Mitchell and Darragh O Keefe who were outstanding on the day the trophy was presented to captain Donnacha Connolly and the team now advance to a county semi-final. Team from Team from John Bourke, Cian Enright, Patrick Byrnes (BB), Ciaran Humphries, Colin Haigney, Niall Mitchell (BB), Thomas Shanahan, Michael Martin (BB), Darragh O Keefe, Daniel Owens(BB), Donnacha Connolly, Killian Scanlon, Patrick Dolphin, Shane O Connor, Jack Dalton, Darragh Hogan(BB),  Ciaran Kennedy, Eoin Feeney, Rory Hannon, Padraig Byrnes, Eoghan O Connor and Sam Riordan.


Fixtures and Club Notices: Ballybricken/Bohermore juniors will play the hurling county quarter final against Killeedy this Sunday in Cappagh at 12 noon all support welcome please see club text and leader sport for fixture updates. The Liam McCarthy cup made its way to Ballybricken/Bohermore GAA field last Sunday in what were great joyful scenes for young and old. A number of the victorious panel were in attendance namely Aaron Gillane, Sean Finn, Richie McCarthy, Dan Morrisey and Barry Nash and in a tremendously well run event the players were introduced on stage raising the cup to the delight of the local crowd, the players remained on for a couple of hours answering questions and signing autographs for all. In a great day for the club the new gym was opened also and doubled as a photo room as everybody present were given the opportunity to hold the Liam McCarthy aloft. Great credit to all involved with the organisation of this historic GAA event enjoyed by all the community. Limerick ladies produced a powerhouse performance to beat Louth in the ladies football final winning by 5-06 to 0-8, well done to all involved including the St Ailbes contingent Caroline Hickey, Katie Heelan, Mairead Kavanagh, Emer Ryan and the Ryan sisters Niamh and Ciara who will be bringing two All-Ireland medals home to Caherelly.