Ballybricken Bohermore GAA Banner image
Home About Us Downloads Fixtures & Results Photo Gallery News & Lotto Interactive History
Latest News
Club Lotto

Latest Ballybricken-Bohermore GAA News

Minor Footballers win Div 2 County Championship !!


Our Minor Footballers become County champions with a great win over St.Kierans on the score line of 2-7 to 2-5 in the Division 2 county final on Friday night last in Mick Neville Park. Bally played with the elements in the first half and Conor McCarthy opened the score sheet converting Ballys first free in the first 5 mins. St Kieran’s responded to even it up but Connell Ryan replied after 10 mins with a well-executed point from play. Conditions were tricky taking the elements into account and David Ryan won some excellent ball around the middle of the field and kept a steady flow on ball into the in-form forwards. Conor Garvey then showed excellent skill and strength to round his man for a well finished goal after 20 minutes, thereafter Conor McCarthy converted his 3rd point of the half. Connell  Ryan then gathered the ball around the 65 yard line and ran straight for goal and did not disappoint with an excellent strike that ended up in the top right corner of the net.. Bally had built up an 8 point lead at this stage but it was short lived as St. Kierans responded almost immediately with goal and a point to close the half on top and narrow Bally’s lead to 4 points as the whistle blew for half time. It was all to play for facing the elements in the second half. St Kierans taking that advantage started the stronger and scored 1 -2 in the first 15 minutes of the half and moved into the lead. However it was our backs that kept Bally in the game and managed to hold out a steady bombardment from St. Kierans with Alan O’Riordan, the ever reliable Sean Teefy and the Owens brothers leading by example. Bally then broke the deadlock when Adam McCarty started a move from deep that fed through to Conor McCarthy which he converted to draw the sides level. Gearoid Mitchell dug deep to win some vital possession as the game came to a close and Bally were awarded 2 frees which the in-form Conor McCarthy managed to convert despite the swirling winds. This left Bally with a 2 point lead as the final whistle blew. To be able to come from behind in these conditions in the dying minutes sums up the resilience of this young team that deservedly lifted the Cup after it was presented to Captain Colm Power. This was a fine reward for this young Group of players having lost a number of finals over the past few years. Team: Dylan Conway, Daniel Owens, Sean Teefy, Jack Owens; Shane O Neill, Alan O Riordan, Adam McCarthy,  Gearoid Mitchell, David Ryan; Jason Cross, Conor McCarthy, Adrian Lennon; Colm Power, Connell Ryan, Conor Garvey, Killian McCarthy, Eoin Kloos, Niall Mitchell, James Garvey, Jamie Doran, Jack Cross.  Cillian o Brien.Management Team: Mark O’Dea, Liam McCarthy & Kevin Ryan