Ballybricken Bohermore GAA Banner image
Home About Us Downloads Fixtures & Results Photo Gallery News & Lotto Interactive History
Latest News
Club Lotto

Latest Ballybricken-Bohermore GAA News

Minor Footballers win East Limerick Div. 2 Final !!


On Saturday Oct 17th our Minor Footballers had a great win over Pallasgrene on the score line of 2-9 to 1-7 in the East Limerick Division 2 final. This was a noteworthy moment for this Group of players as they had lost a number of finals over the past few years & this victory is testimony to their resilience. We had lost to our East rivals in the first group game in Caherelly earlier in the year. We defeated Cappamore in the next round. We made a very bright start to this game with Cillian McCarthy getting our first score  and  Conor Mc Carthy & Connell Ryan in great form up front. We led at half time 1-5 to 0-2 & the score of the first half came from Adrian Lennon out on the left wing.  Pallas started strong in the second half & brought the game back to 3 points with a lot of pressure on the Ballybricken defence where Dylan Conway in goals was holding his lines very well. Then in a further attack up field Connell Ryan got his second goal following good work by Colm Power to extend our lead. However Pallas again came back and scored a great goal to leave just 3 points in it. Then Bally rallied again with strong runs from defence from Alan o Riordan & Shane o Neill & we finished the game off with two well taken points. Sean Teefy and Jack Owens were  really strong game in the full back line throughout the game & the two fifteen year olds Daniel Owens & Cillian o Brien more than held their own too.  Gearoid Mitchell  & David Ryan at mid field were solid throughout the game winning good possession against a strong Pallas combination. All the attach performed well with Jason Cross who has had a great year with the minor team winning a lot of ball in the half forward line.  After the Game on behalf of the East Board Bernard Grene presented the Cup to our Captain Colm Power. This was a very significant and deserved win for this group of players as they had a very strong Hurling campaign in Division 1 of the county championship with a lot of significant victories against bigger clubs. We were eventually knocked out of the competition by a very strong Old Christians - Claughan combination. Team Dylan Conway, Daniel Owens, Sean Teefy, Jack Owens; Shane O Neill, Alan O Riordan, Cillian o Brien;  Gearoid Mitchell, David Ryan; Jason Cross, Conor McCarthy, Adrian Lennon; Colm Power, Connell Ryan, Killian McCarthy; Adam Mc Carthy, Conor Garvey, Eoin Kloos, Niall Mitchell, James Garvey, Jamie Doran, Jack Cross. Management Team: Mark O’Dea, Liam McCarthy & Kevin Ryan.