Ballybricken Bohermore GAA Banner image
Home About Us Downloads Fixtures & Results Photo Gallery News & Lotto Interactive History
Latest News
Club Lotto

Latest Ballybricken-Bohermore GAA News

U16 Hurlers secure excellent win over Doon


U16 hurlers played Doon on Wed April 23rd in Caherelly. Doon started the stronger scoring the first point from a free. Craig Cosgrave, Niall Mitchell and Jamie McCarthy were getting on the ball early on, we worked hard as a unit and got the reward from Conor Garvey who was sharp from placed balls. Doon were putting us under pressure and had 6 points scored inside 25 minutes but our midfielders Gearoid Mitchell and Fionn Murphy were outstanding dominating at midfield and through good play from Niall Mitchell and Jack Owens who were playing very well we worked the ball into Jamie McCarthy who converted our first point from play. Dylan Conway made a few fantastic saves in the goal mouth to keep us in the game and Conor Garvey found the back of the net to put us ahead by a point at half time. Adam McCarthy, Darragh Kelly and James Garvey were leading by example in the backs for Bally went 2 points ahead early in the second half from a placed ball by Conor Garvey. Doon hit back with 2 points from frees to draw the game level, but the lads kept working hard with the wind at their backs and Jamie McCarthy and Fionn Murphy scored points from open play for Bally to put us back into the lead. Bally were very strong in the air with Fionn Murphy, Jack Owens and Gearoid Mitchell catching great high balls to keep us on top in the game. Doon scored a point with 5 minutes to go which meant there was just a point separating the teams. Bally kept their heads up however and Sean Teefy and Gearoid Mitchell worked tirelessly to hold on to the lead and we just about hung on to win the match. Final score Ballybricken/Bohermore 1-7 Doon 0-9. Panel: Dylan Conway, Jamie Doran, Darragh Kelly, James Garvey, Adam McCarthy, Sean Teefy, Jack Owens, Gearoid Mitchell, Fionn Murphy (0-1), Craig Cosgrave, Jamie McCarthy (0-2), Niall Mitchell, Daniel Owens, Conor Garvey (1-4), Cillian McCarthy, Lewis Rogers, Conor Kennedy.