Ballybricken Bohermore GAA Banner image
Home About Us Downloads Fixtures & Results Photo Gallery News & Lotto Interactive History
Junior Champs 2000
East Championship
History item

Club History

A Proud GAA Tradition.

Limerick was one of the first counties to rally to the call sent out from Thurles on that historic November Day in 1884, which was appropriate, for in olden times famous Aonachs were held in Bruree, Ballybricken, Knockainey, Manister and elsewhere. It was in the order of things that another generation should continue the pastimes of their forbearers. The birth of the GAA found hurling and other pastimes in decay, a little attention helped revive them, for their roots were sound and deeply laid in Irish soil and they soon made headway with teams springing up everywhere and athletic meetings been organised in many areas.

Ballybricken kept pace with the progress in other parishes and their feats through dedication to the GAA ideals down the years are such that any parish could feel proud of. It did not take long for the club to achieve notable success as, they won the 1912 County Intermediate Hurling title by defeating Newcastlewest 4-03 to 4-01. The following year Denis Dwyer, Ballybricken captained Limerick against Cork at Tipperary in the Munster Junior Hurling Championship. Cork won this game 1-03 to 1-1.The Club reached the 1919 County Junior hurling final, played at the Markets Field, where after a classic game we defeated Young Irelands 3-02 to 2-02 to win the title.